Confessions of a Bookaholic

Time and again, my will-power was challenged throughout this past academic year. And as much as I tried, I just couldn’t resist the temptation. Believe me! It’s not that I didn’t make any efforts. Everytime, I told myself  “Don’t do this! You know this is going to end badly. Be reasonable!”  But I couldn’t help it. The urge to buy books, which I knew I didn’t have time to read, was just too strong.

I was magnetically drawn to events such as the Boekenfestijn (and it didn’t really help that EuroMUN took place during the same week so that  I basically spent 12-14 hours a day in close proximity to a huge hall full of books). For a while I thought about blocking Amazon on my laptop but having to look for new (and often mandatory) study-books every eight weeks, gave me the necessary excuse not to.

At the end of the day, it’s with a slight feeling of guilt that I look at the pile of books that has accumulated throughout the year. Not because I regret buying them. Not at all. But because I haven’t found the time yet to read any of them. Now, during the holidays, this is about to change. The only thing left to decide is where to start. Below, I listed all books I want to read this summer, so if you have any recommendations for a particular order (or for other titles), please comment.

  • Parliament of Man by Paul Kennedy
  • Memo to the President Elect by Madeleine Albright
  • Melymbrosia by Virginia Woolf
  • A solitary War  by Heraldo Munoz
  • Hot, Flat & Crowded by Thomas L. Friedman
  • The Lazy Environmentalist on a Budget by Josh Dorfman
Leave a Reply

